Friday, September 24, 2021


Four Vincentians are expected to feature for the St. Lucia Kings, formerly the St. Lucia Zouks (2013–2016, 2019–2020) and St Lucia Stars (2017–2018) in this year’s Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL), the region’s premier T20 cricket tournament.

The 2021 tournament officially bowled off yesterday, Thursday 26th August, and will run until Wednesday 15th September. All the matches are taking place in St. Kitts and Nevis. 

- Advertisement -

The four Vincentians turning out for the St. Lucia Kings are fast bowlers Kesrick Williams and Obey McCoy; and top order batsman Sunil Ambris, and leg spinner Keron Cottoy. 

Williams, one of the leading wicket-takers in the CPL, will be looking to transfer that status to his new team, having turned out for the Jamaica Tallawahs previously.

McCoy, a regular in the West Indies T20 squad, will be looking to continue his rise among the regional fast bowlers who will be on show.

Ambris is expected to approach this year’s CPL with a determination to amass runs and force himself back into contention for a place in the West Indies squads across all formats.

McCoy, a right-arm leg-spinner currently contracted to the Windward Volcanoes, last played in the 2019 CPL for the St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots. He returns to the St. Lucia Kings after representing this franchise in CPL 2015, then St. Lucia Zouks.

The Saint Lucia CPL franchise is now owned by K.P.H. Dream Cricket Private Limited, principal investor in Punjab Kings franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL).  This new ownership occasioned the name change from Zouks to Kings.

Defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors were scheduled to feature in the opening match yesterday. St. Lucia Kings begin their CPL campaign today Friday 27th August, against Jamaica Tallawahs.

The St Lucia Kings team reads: Faf du Plessis (captain), Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Wahab Riaz, Rakheem Cornwall, Keemo Paul, Javelle Glen, Mark Deyal, Alzarri Joseph, Jeavor Royal, Obed McCoy, Roston Chase, Usman Qadir, Samit Patel, Keron Cottoy, Kadeem Alleyne, Tim David and Sunil Ambris.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -

Most Popular

- Advertisement -

Get new posts by email

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Related News

You cannot copy content of this page