Sunday, July 3, 2022
Custom Text


Custom Text

Vincentian, Dr. Jason Haynes has been named as the laureate of the UNESCO/Juan Bosch Prize for the Promotion of Social Science Research in Latin America and the Caribbean. He is the first person from the English-speaking Caribbean to be selected for this prestigious award.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) previously selected laureates from Columbia and Bolivia. The prize which includes US $12,000 and a diploma recognizes his research on the theme “Rethinking Anti-Trafficking Law and Practice: European and Commonwealth Caribbean Perspectives”.

Dr. Haynes, a former National Scholar who received the Prime Minister’s Award in 2008 is currently the Deputy Dean of Graduate Studies and Research in the Faculty of Law at University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill Campus.

This award adds to his many academic accolades over the years including a British Chevening Scholarship in 2011, a Commonwealth scholarship in 2012, Durham University’s Learning and Teaching Award in 2014, the Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Award by the UWI, Cave Hill Campus in 2019, and an Academic Fellowship from the Honourable Society of Middle Temple in 2021.

The proud recipient who was notified of the award in late January, 2022 stated “What started as a mere interest has blossomed into something profound and impactful and I’m just happy that UNESCO saw value in my work and its contribution to social science in Latin America and the Caribbean. Sometimes you are nominated for things but aren’t quite sure that you will get through as you’re up against hundreds of other scholars.

The fact that no person from the English-speaking country had won it before made it slightly daunting. However, I was confident in the quality of my work, and I thought that the international jury would at least have positive things to say about my work even if I didn’t win.

The Senior Lecturer in Law was nominated by the St Vincent and the Grenadines National Commission for UNESCO in 2021 for the award which is granted every two years.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -Custom Text

Most Popular

- Advertisement -Custom Text
Get new posts by email

- Advertisement -Custom Text

Recent News

- Advertisement -Custom Text


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -Custom Text

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you